XXVIII ANNUAL REPORT OF THE INDIAN PHYTOPATHOLOGICAL SOCIETY FOR THE YEAR 1974

Mr. President, Members of the IPS, Ladies and Gentlemen

I am presenting herewith the 28th Annual report of the Society for the year 1974. Sixty (60) new members joined the Society, 28 as life-members and 32 as ordinary members (including 8 student members) whereas 68 discontinued their membership. At the year's end the total members were 937 and subscribers 423.

I regret to report the death of four (4) members—Prof. G. S. Verma, Dr. George Morel, Shri P. M. Verma and Dr. T. Sreeramulu.

Since the publication of the journal is the most important activity of the Society, the Executive Council has approved the suggestion of the Editorial Board that henceforth the Chief Editor should present a report at the time of General Body meeting. Important decisions of the Editorial Board are now being communicated to the members under the "Phytopathological News" in the journal.

The financial position of the Society continues to be satisfactory. The amount to the credit of the Society in the S. B. Accounts with M/s. National and Grindlays Bank Ltd., (Lloyd's Branch) and Bank of India, New Delhi and cash in hand as on 30th November, 1974 was Rs. 41,314.78. In addition a sum of Rs. 10,000/– has been invested in 12 years National Defence Certificates and Rs. 40,000/– in the Fixed Deposit Account for 5 years. Thus, the total assets amount to Rs. 91,314.78. Several cheques are still in the process of collection. During the year the receipts amounted to Rs. 53,850.08 and expenditure to Rs. 49,870.73, thus leaving a balance of Rs. 3,979.35. We have paid the cost of printing of issues No. 2, 3 and 4, of vol. 26,1973, and have made a part payment of issue no. 1 of vol. 27. We understand that the ICAR has sanctioned a financial assistance, of Rs. 10,000/– to the Society towards printing of the journal. M/s. Kapoor Art Press, New Delhi, continues to print the journal.

I am happy to inform you that 17 more members—Drs. K. S. Dhanraj, Mohammad Abu, B. K. Goswami, S. J. Singh, K. S. M. Sastry, Thakur Ji, B. V. Srinivasulu, P. Vidhyasekaran, G. Thottapilly, R. Jeyarajan, B. P. Singh, S. K. Ghosh, R. N. Singh, S. S. Prasad, T. B. Singh, O. P. Pandey and B. Mishra have been accepted for fellowship (FPSI).

During the year, four members of our society have been honoured for their contributions. Prof. T. S. Sadasivan was honoured with Padma Bhushan and Hora Medal, Drs. Abrar M. Khan and S. Y. Padmanabhan received Rafi Ahmed Kidwi Award and Dr. M. S. Swaminathan received Silver Jubilee Commemoration Medal.

This year the twelfth Mundkur Memorial lecture, is being delivered by Dr. R. S. Vasudeva, Retired Joint Director and Head of the Division of Mycology and Plant Pathology, IARI, New Delhi. We are highly grateful to him for accepting the assignment. We are thankful to Dr. H. K. Saksena for presiding over this lecture.

Editorial Board (1974-76)

According to the revised constitution of the Society, the following editorial-board was elected by the Executive Council for the period, 1974-76. Editor-in-Chief: Dr. D. N. Srivastava, Editor—Dr. C. L. Sethi, ten (10) members of the Board: Drs. M. S. Chatrath, R. K. Grover (Fungal Pathology); Drs. R. L. Munjal and B. S. Mehrotra (Mycology); Drs. Y. L. Nene and S. P. Capoor (Virology); Drs. V. N. Shukla and Kishen Singh (Nematology) and Drs. M. V. Nayudu and Y. P. Rao (Bacteriology) and the Secretary, IPS., Dr. P. N. Patel, as an Ex-officio member.

Plant Disease Problems

During the year a few more copies worth Rs. 655.95 have been sold. This brings the total amount realised by way of sale proceeds of the volume to about Rs. 15,700.00, out of a total of Rs. 25,000/- invested by the Society. Although the selling price, was reduced from Rs. 30/- to Rs. 20/- for members and Rs. 60/- to Rs. 40/- for subscribers, the sale has declined. There is a large number of books lying in the stock and we request you all to help the society, by purchasing it for you and your libraries and institutions.

Prof. M. J. Narasimhan Academic Award contest (1975)

During the XXVI Annual meeting of the Society held at College of Agriculture, Nagpur, on 2nd January, 1974, a contest for the award was held. Seven (7) young scientists from different parts of the country took part. Two papers entitled "Seed transmission of brinjal mosaic in some varieties of brinjal (Solanum melongena) by C. D. Mayee and H. L. Khatri and "Amino acid contents of ragi leaves in relation to Helminthosporiose disease resistance" by P. Vidyasekharan were adjusted cowinners and shared the prize of Rs. 500/-. The Society is thankful to Drs. R. Prasada, S. B. Saksena and M. M. Payak, for serving in the judging committee.

General Paper Reading Session

As per the revised constitution, a General Paper Reading Session has been included for the first time as a part of our Annual General Body meeting programme. Forty-three papers were received and divided in five sessions. viz., Fungal Pathology, Plant Nematology, Fungal Physiology and Histopathology, Plant Bacteriology and Plant Virology. The abstracts shall be printed in the journal. We are indeed thankful to Drs. B. S. Yadav, R. K. Grover, B. B. Nagaich, B. S. Mehrotra and P. N. Patel for chairing these sessions.

Council Meetings

During the year under report, two formal meetings of the Council were held.

Prof. R. N. Tandon's 70th Birthday celebrations

In accordance with the decision of the Executive Council at its meeting held on 31-12-1973 and approved by the general body on the same day, 70th Birthday of Prof. R. N. Tandon, former President and Honorary Fellow of our Society, is being organized on 2nd January, 1975.

We are very much thankful to the organizers of the Indian Science Congress, especially Dr. H. Y. Mohanram, Dr. K. G. Mukherjee Prof. I. P. Singh and their colleagues for the local arrangements.

We are grateful to Prof. T. S. Sadasivan for kindly accepting our invitation for chairing the Annual meeting during which the Presidential address would be delivered. I am especially grateful to Prof. R. N. Tandon, Dr. R. Prasada and Prof. K. S. Thind for their kind advice as and when sought.

Finally I wish to express my sincere thanks to the members of the Executive Council at Delhi, Dr. L. M. Joshi (President-Elect), Dr. D. N. Srivastava (Chief Editor), Dr. A. S. Summanwar (Jt. Secretary), Dr. A. K. Sarbhoy (Treasurer), Shri J. L. Jandaik (Councillor, Delhi Zone), for their help and suggestions in various matters. From this year Shri Girdhari Lal Ji is serving the Society on a full time basis as Superintendant. As always, he has been very efficient and thorough in running the affairs of the Society. We are very thankful to him. I am also grateful to members of the Executive Council outside the headquarters for their cooperation and help.

P. N. PATEL Secretary